Digital Restoration – The Goddess – José Clara

IMA Solutions has realized the infra-millimetric 3D digitization of the original plaster sculpture “The Goddess” of the sculptor José Clara. This original dating back to 1909 kept in the reserves of the Musée des Augustins was selected by the inhabitants of the district of Place Mage in Toulouse to be installed.

The original plaster can not be placed outside and being damaged (collapse and cracks), decision was made to carry out a high-definition 3D digitization and a 3D digital restoration to create a 3D model of the work conforming to its original state. This 3D model was then sent to the company Lithias which made the replica of a very high fidelity in Lavoux stone thanks to a stonemasonry robot and a hand finish.

Inaugurated on September 10, 2018 on the Mage Square renovated by the Mayor of Toulouse, this sculpture is a concrete example of the possibilities offered by new 3D technologies and the digital preservation of heritage.

Restauration Digitale – La Déesse – José Clara

IMA Solutions a réalisé la numérisation 3D infra millimétrique de l’original en plâtre de la sculpture « La Déesse » du sculpteur José Clara. Cet original datant de 1909 conservé dans les réserves du Musée des Augustins a été sélectionné par les habitants du quartier de la place Mage à Toulouse pour y être installé.

L’original en plâtre ne pouvant pas être placé en extérieur et étant endommagé (affaissement et fissures), décision a été prise de réaliser une numérisation 3D haute définition et une restauration numérique 3D permettant de créer un modèle 3D de l’oeuvre conforme à son état d’origine. Ce modèle 3D a ensuite été transmis à la société Lithias qui a réalisé la réplique d’une très grande fidélité en pierre de Lavoux grâce à un robot tailleur de pierre et une finition à la main.

Inaugurée le 10 Septembre 2018 sur la place Mage rénovée par Monsieur le Maire de Toulouse, cette sculpture est un exemple concret des possibilités offertes par les nouvelles technologies 3D et la préservation numérique du patrimoine.